Podczas wizyty w DAF Paccar Company w Eindhoven, nieodłącznym elementem było zwiedzanie DAF Museum (http://www.dafmuseum.nl).
From blacksmith’s shop to large company
In 1928 A.H.Huenges, owner of „De Valk” brewery, made a workshop available to the Van Doorne brothers, Hub and Wim. This workshop was located next to the brewery at number 27 Tongelresestraat in Eindhoven.
At first the „C.V. Hub van Doorne machine en reparatie inrichting” (machine and repair shop, limited partnership) turned out simple engineering products, in fact their workshop was an oversized blacksmith’s shop. This workshop, which has been completely restored, is in itself worth a visit to the DAF Museum as it is fascinating to see what tools were used in the old days, apart from the smith’s fire.
In 1932 the company’s name was changed into „Van Doorne’s Aanhangwagenfabriek” (trailer factory), DAF for short. The production of trailers and semi-trailers was a success, not in the least because of the legendary ‚featherweight’ semi-trailer and the automatic fifth-wheel coupling that came with it.
DAF Museum mieści się w Eindhoven przy ulicy Tongelresestraat 27, dokładnie tam gdzie zaczynała się jego historia.